HAPPY VALLEY !

For this 4th edition, Morocco Race takes place in Happy Valley, at only 200 km from Marrakech.

MOROCCO

HAPPY VALLEY

Ait Bouguemez, is the name of the valley and its inhabitants which provide from the name Ait Bouammass which means in local Berber language “people from the center” caused by the central situation in the heart of the central High-Atlas mountains. It is also known under the name of “Happy Valley”. That name was given by strangers visitors impressed par the hospitality and joy of the inhabitants.
The valley is situated between the provinces of Azizlal and Ouarzazate. Its altitude starts from 1800m to 2300m high in the central High-Atlas, dominated by the M’Goun massig peaking at 4068m high. All around the valley stand +3000m high peaks.
The valley spreads its greenery on about 30km, making the longest and hugest altitude valley from Morocco. It counts 27 villages of traditional architecture using natural building material like earth, stone, wood… and counts a population of about 14000 inhabitants.
Being still a lake for more than a million years, the Ait Bouguemez valley was populated by great dinosaurs which have left huge footprints until 60cm large. Prints are easily seeable in the valley on limestone paves.

TOP
WhatsApp WhatsApp us

VALLÉE HEUREUSE !

Pour cette 4ème édition, la Morocco Race s’installe à la VALLÉE HEUREUSE, à seulement 200 km de Marrakech.

MAROC

VALLÉE HEUREUSE

Aït Bouguemez, est le nom de la vallée et de ses habitants qui est dérivé du nom Aït Bouammass qui signifie en langue berbère  locale « les gens du milieux » du fait de la situation de la vallée, en plein cœur des montagnes du Haut Atlas central. Elle est aussi connue sous le nom de « la vallée heureuse ». Ce nom lui a été attribué par les visiteurs étrangers impressionnés par l’hospitalité de ses habitants et leur joie.
La vallée est située à la limite des provinces d’Azilal et d’Ouarzazate. Son altitude s’étend de 1800m à 2300m dans la Haut Atlas central, dominé par le massif du M’Goun culminant à 4068m. La vallée est surplombée de tous les cotés de plusieurs sommets dépassants 3000 m d’altitude.
La vallée étire sa verdure sur quelques trentaines de kilomètres, ce qui en fait la plus longue et la plus vaste vallée d’altitude du Haut Atlas et du Maroc. Elle compte 27 villages d’une architecture ancestrale utilisant des matières de construction naturelles tels de la terre battue, la pierre, le bois, le plâtre…Et compte une population d’environ 14.000 habitants.
Étant encore un lac il y a plus d’un million d’année (Jurassique inférieur), la vallée des Aït Bouguemez était peuplée d’impressionnants dinosaures qui nous ont laissé leurs énormes traces de patte jusqu’à 60 cm de diamètre. Ces traces sont à admirer un peu partout dans la vallée  sur des dalles calcaires et sont en général très facile d’accès.

Google Map

MOROCCO RACE Direction

HAUT